Lot N°263

1963 • Fiat 2300 S CONTACT US

Best bid:No bid

Lot number263

Seller Fiat Lux

Private seller

Languages FR

Location of the lot Moulins, France

Bullet point A line designed by Ghia

and also An engine optimised by Abarth

Serial number114 BS 105230

Engine capacity2279 cc

Number of cylinders6

Transmission Manual

Number of gears 4

Description

History

At the end of the 1950s, Fiat had to replace the 1900, a luxurious saloon car for business leaders and dignitaries. This car got its name from its cubic capacity. Its replacement offered two versions from 1959: an 1800 cc engine and a 2100 cc engine. Two years later, the range was extended with the arrival of the 2300 cc engine. This novelty was accompanied by an attractive coupé. The latter was very well received by the press. It must be said that the Turin firm had done its utmost. The bodywork was designed by Ghia, the finishing touches were meticulous and the engine was designed by Aurelio Lampredi, who was responsible for the engines of several World Champion Ferraris. Unfortunately, Fiat's image was perhaps too popular to be convincing in this segment and, despite its many qualities, the 2300 was not a success and its distribution remained rather confidential.
Sold in 1963 to an Italian manufacturer, this 2300 S coupé, the most powerful version prepared by Abarth, now has 52,000 km (undocumented) on the clock. In 2017, its bodywork and mechanics were restored in Germany. Its current owner has owned it since 2018 and has driven 5000 km in it. He has not failed to maintain it meticulously. The manufacturer's manual is present. A test drive is possible from 11 to 19 September near Moulins in the Allier. For those of you who can't come and test the qualities of this car before bidding on it, it was reviewed by News d'Anciennes 18 months ago (a detailed test can be found on https://newsdanciennes.com/essai-fiat-2300s-coupe-petit-plaisir-a-litalienne/).

Exterior

As far as the bodywork is concerned, the Fiat 2300 coupé owes its refined line to the designers of the Ghia company. They made it a sober and elegant car despite its large dimensions (4.62m long, 1m63 wide and 1m37 high). Its originality lies in the design of the side windows and the curvature of the panoramic rear window. Originally painted in silver grey, it now sports a taupe grey paintwork that brings out the various exterior details and other chrome. The 2300 S is mounted on 15-inch steel wheels with chrome hubcaps. The colour of these rims is not original, one of the wheel covers is dented and the others have slight scratches (photos 58-60). There is a defect in the functioning of the deflectors, a slight crack on a front indicator (photo 038) and a rear reflector (photo 042), and a crack on the rear plate light (photo 045). Finally, the car does not have its original mirrors.

Interior

The interior of the Fiat 2300 S coupé is, in the words of News d'Anciennes, "simply magnificent". It is particularly bright due to the large glass area provided by the panoramic rear window. The four seats, the door panels and the top of the dashboard are finished in caramel-coloured leather. The slightly tarnished rear view mirror adds a nice patina note. Behind a superb Nardi steering wheel encircled in wood, the instrumentation is very complete. Only the clock has stopped.

Mechanical

Under the bonnet is an in-line six-cylinder engine of 2279 cm3 with a "bewitching sound", as News d'Anciennes writes. A reliable engine, but one that should not be neglected in its maintenance. The 2300 S version benefits from a cylinder head and exhaust system revised by Abarth, allowing the engine block to reach 136 bhp at 5,600 rpm with 180 nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The transmission is provided by a four-speed gearbox. To stop the 1290 kg of this beautiful car, we can rely on the four disc brakes. However, the technical inspection revealed a minor imbalance in the rear brakes. The work carried out over the last two years includes the rebuilding of the rear axle, the steering, the fuel tank and the adjustment of the carburetion, all of which is documented by a file with numerous invoices.


Bids and comments

Best bid No bids yet
Total number of bids 0
Total number of comments 4

Add a comment

To comment, log in or become a member

Lot N°263

Fiat 2300 S • 1963 NON VENDU

Meilleure enchère :Pas d'enchère

Numéro du lot263

Vendeur Fiat Lux

Vendeur particulier

Langues FR

Lieu où se trouve le lot Moulins, France

Le plus Une ligne signée Ghia

Et aussi Une mécanique optimisée par Abarth

Numéro de série114 BS 105230

Cylindrée2279 cm3

Nombre de cylindres6

Transmission Manuelle

Nombre de rapports 4

Description

Historique

A la fin des années 50, Fiat doit remplacer la 1900, une luxueuse berline destinée aux chefs d’entreprises et aux hauts dignitaires. Cette automobile tient son nom de sa cylindrée. Sa remplaçante propose deux versions dès 1959: un moteur de 1800 cm3 et un second de 2100 cm3. Deux ans plus tard, la gamme s’enrichit avec l’arrivée du moteur 2300 cm3. Cette nouveauté s’accompagne d’un joli coupé. Ce dernier est très bien accueilli par la presse. Il faut dire que la firme de Turin a mis les petits plats dans les grands. La carrosserie est dessinée par Ghia, les finitions sont soignées et le moteur est conçu par Aurelio Lampredi à qui l’on doit les moteurs de quelques Ferrari Championnes du Monde. Malheureusement, Fiat est une marque à l’image peut-être trop populaire pour convaincre sur ce segment et, malgré ses nombreuses qualités, le succès n’est pas au rendez-vous pour la 2300 dont la diffusion restera assez confidentielle.
Vendu en 1963 à un industriel italien, ce coupé 2300 S, la version la plus performante préparée par Abarth, affiche désormais 52000 km (non certifiés) au compteur. En 2017, sa carrosserie et sa mécanique ont été restaurés en Allemagne. Son actuel propriétaire la détient depuis 2018 et a effectué 5000 km à son volant. Il n’a pas manqué de l’entretenir minutieusement. Le manuel constructeur est présent. Un essai est possible du 11 au 19 septembre du côté de Moulins dans l’Allier. Pour celles et ceux qui n’auraient pas la possibilité de se déplacer pour en tester les qualités avant d’enchérir, l’auto fut passée au crible par News d’Anciennes il y a 18 mois (un essai détaillé à retrouver en allant sur https://newsdanciennes.com/essai-fiat-2300s-coupe-petit-plaisir-a-litalienne/).

Extérieur

Côté carrosserie, le coupé Fiat 2300 doit sa ligne raffinée aux stylistes de la maison Ghia. Ils en ont fait une automobile sobre et élégante malgré ses importantes dimensions (4,62m de long, pour 1m63 de large et 1m37 de haut). Elle trouve son originalité dans le dessin de vitres latérales et dans la courbure de sa lunette arrière panoramique. Née en gris argent, elle arbore maintenant une peinture gris taupe qui en fait ressortir à merveille les différents détails extérieurs et autres chromes. Cette 2300 S est montée sur des jantes de 15 pouces en acier paré d’enjoliveurs chromés. Par ailleurs, la couleur de ces jantes n’est pas d’origine, un des enjoliveurs est bosselé et les autres ont de légères griffures (photos 58-60). On notera un défaut du fonctionnement des déflecteurs, une légère fissure sur un clignotant avant (photo 038) et un catadioptre arrière (photo 042), et une fêlure du feu de plaque arrière (photo 045). Enfin, l’auto ne dispose pas de ses rétroviseurs d’origine.

Intérieur

L’habitacle de la Fiat 2300 S coupé est, pour reprendre les mots de News d’Anciennes, « tout simplement magnifique ». Il est particulièrement lumineux du fait de son importante surface vitrée apportée par sa lunette arrière panoramique. Les quatre sièges, les panneaux de portes et le dessus de la planche de bord se parent de cuir de couleur caramel. Le rétroviseur au mercure quelque peu terni apporte une sympathique note de patine. Derrière un superbe volant Nardi cerclé en bois, l’instrumentation est très complète. Seule l’horloge s’est arrêtée.

Mécanique

Sous le capot, on retrouve un moteur de six cylindres en ligne de 2279 cm3à la « sonorité envoûtante », comme l’écrit encore News d’Anciennes. Une mécanique fiable mais dont il ne faut pas négliger l’entretien. La version 2300 S bénéficie d’une culasse et d’un échappement revus par Abarth permettant au bloc motopropulseur d’atteindre les 136 ch à 5600 t/min avec un couple de 180 nm à 4000 t/min. La transmission est assurée par une boîte à quatre rapports. Pour arrêter les 1290 kg de cette belle auto, on pourra compter sans problème sur les quatre freins à disque. Le contrôle technique relève toutefois un déséquilibre mineur sur les freins arrière. Les travaux exécutés au cours de ces deux dernières années comprennent la réfection du pont arrière, de la direction, du réservoir, le réglage de la carburation, le tout documenté par un dossier avec de nombreuses factures.


Enchères et commentaires

Meilleure Enchère Pas d'enchère
Nombre total d'enchères 0
Nombre total de commentaires 2

Ajouter un commentaire

Pour commenter, connectez-vous ou devenez membre