Lot N°478

1992 • Porsche 911 (964) Roadster America UNSOLD

Best bid:No bid

Lot number478

Seller PAM

Private seller

Languages FR

Location of the lot L'Isle Adam (95), France

Bullet point Extremely rare limited series

and also 'Matching numbers' with known history

Serial numberWPOCB2966NS460947

Engine capacity3600 cc

Number of cylinders6

Transmission Manual

Number of gears 5

Estimate €90,000 - 110,000

Description

History

The Porsche 911 'Typ 964', a new version of the legendary 911, was presented in 1988. From the start, the customer was entitled to a 3.6-liter 250 hp engine, still air-cooled. Then, he can choose between 2 and 4 wheel drive and between three bodies: coupe, Targa and convertible. The Turbo arrived in 1990 ... but the range is still not complete. In Europe we will find Carrera RS, Speedster, Anniversary. The North American market will be entitled to 'its' exclusive Porsche 964: the America Roadster, which appeared in 1992 and is limited to 250 units. The name is not chosen at random since it commemorates the 21 Porsche 356s of the same name built at the request of the importer Max Hoffmann just 40 years earlier. If the latter is unknown, yet it is she who will inspire the legendary Speedster. Coming back to this special 964, it should be noted that it is the only Porsche 911 to be called Roadster. It should also be noted that its silhouette is known in Europe since it was sold there, with a few details, under the name of Carrera 2 Cabriolet Turbo Look. The car therefore takes many elements from the Turbo: its chassis and its tracks are widened, the gears are necessarily adapted while the spoiler has disappeared. The car is fitted with 17 "rims. On the other hand, under the back cover, it is indeed the 250 hp engine of the Carrera 2 that we find. under the name of Carrera 2 Cabriolet Turbo Look. The car therefore takes many elements from the Turbo: its chassis and tracks are wider, the suspension has been adapted and the spoiler has disappeared. The car is fitted with 17" wheels. However, under the rear bonnet, the 250 bhp engine of the Carrera 2 is still there.
The history of the model offered - extremely rare in Europe - is complete and known in particular thanks to the American Carfax system which mentions sales, mileage and the various technical inspections (photos 069 à 073). It thus attests to a purchase in September 1992, then to the existence of three other owners, all in California, from 1995 to June 2016, the date of its acquisition by the seller. The car is equipped with a tracker with an up-to-date subscription and an alarm. The tool kit, complete, original, is present, like the maintenance book, and all the invoices since 2016. The last technical inspection dates from November 2020, it is valid for two years. Finally, our America Roadster had the honor of an article in RS Magazine (photos 066 à 068).

Exterior

The black that suits her is the color she wore when it left the factory. If some paint work may have been done before 2016 and its purchase by its current owner, they were well done with a constant thickness of paint throughout the car. Above all, they were not due to any shock. Some small defects, in particular on the front bumper or the engine cover, should be noted (photos 025, 027 et 028). The protections placed in front of the rear wheels show cracks but remain intact (photos 024 et 026). The Roadster monogram, specific to this limited series, is present.
The soft top and its flexible rear window benefit from a frame redone in 2018.
The car is based on 17 "Cup-type alloy wheels fitted with Hankook tires showing 20% ​​wear. The spare wheel is equipped in the same way.

Interior

The America Roadster still has its original leather interior, in a light brown / beige color. All the instruments on the large dashboard are working. The counters are logically in miles. The odometer displays 92,380 miles (148,671 km), of which 13,000 (20,921 km) are with the current owner. The upper part of the dashboard does not seem to have suffered, something not so obvious on Californian Porsches. Behind the electrically controlled seats, there are not two additional seats but carpeted spaces designed to accommodate some additional luggage.
On the equipment side, there is air conditioning, a stereo hi-fi system and central locking.

Mechanical

The 3.6-liter, 250-hp engine is 'matching numbers' and mated to its manual 5-speed gearbox. In 2016, the current owner had a complete overhaul including the clutch, timing and engine sealing. The last maintenance dates from the end of 2020. The list of works includes the oil change with replacement of the oil filter, the replacement of the brake fluid and of the brake assist pressure accumulator, the checking of the lighting and the various vehicle components.
On this occasion, the technical control was passed revealing only minor concerns: the orientation of one of the front fog lights and the protection of the front shock absorbers.


Bids and comments

Best bid No bids yet
Total number of bids 0
Total number of comments 0

Add a comment

To comment, log in or become a member

Lot N°478

Porsche 911 (964) Roadster America • 1992

Mise à prix:76 000 € Enchères à venir

Numéro du lot478

Vendeur PAM

Vendeur particulier

Langues FR

Lieu où se trouve le lot L'Isle Adam (95), France

Le plus Rarissime série limitée

Et aussi ‘Matching numbers’ avec historique connu

Numéro de sérieWPOCB2966NS460947

Cylindrée3600 cm3

Nombre de cylindres6

Transmission Manuelle

Nombre de rapports 5

Estimation 90 000 - 110 000 euros

Description

Historique

La Porsche 911 ‘Typ 964’, nouvelle version de la mythique 911, est présentée en 1988. Dès le départ, le client a le droit à un moteur 3,6 litres de 250 ch, toujours refroidi par air. Ensuite, il peut choisir entre 2 et 4 roues motrices et entre trois carrosseries : coupé, Targa et cabriolet. La Turbo arrive en 1990... mais la gamme n'est toujours pas complète. En Europe on trouvera des Carrera RS, des Speedster, des Anniversaire. Le marché nord-américain aura droit, lui, à ‘sa’ Porsche 964 exclusive : l'America Roadster, apparue en 1992 et limitée à 250 exemplaires. Le nom n'est pas choisi au hasard puisqu'il commémore les 21 Porsche 356 du même nom construites à la demande de l'importateur Max Hoffmann tout juste 40 ans plus tôt. Si cette dernière est méconnue, c'est pourtant elle qui inspirera la mythique Speedster. Pour en revenir à cette 964 spéciale, on notera que c'est la seule Porsche 911 à s'être appelée Roadster. Il faut aussi préciser que sa silhouette est connue en Europe puisqu'elle y fut vendue, à quelques détails près, sous le nom de Carrera 2 Cabriolet Turbo Look. L'auto reprend donc de nombreux éléments à la Turbo : son châssis et ses voies sont élargies, les trains sont forcément adaptés tandis que l'aileron a disparu. L'auto se dote de jantes de 17". Par contre, sous le capot arrière, c'est bien le moteur de 250 ch de la Carrera 2 que l'on retrouve.
L'historique de l’exemplaire proposé -rarissime en Europe- est complet et connu notamment grâce au système américain Carfax qui mentionne les ventes, les kilométrages et les différents contrôles techniques (photos 069 à 073). Il atteste ainsi d'un achat en Septembre 1992, puis de l'existence de trois autres propriétaires, tous en Californie, de 1995 à juin 2016, date de son acquisition par le vendeur. La voiture est équipée d'un traqueur avec un abonnement à jour et d'une alarme. La trousse à outils, complète, d'origine, est présente, tout comme le carnet d'entretien, et toutes les factures depuis 2016. Le dernier contrôle technique date de novembre 2020, il est valable deux ans. Enfin, notre America Roadster a eu les honneurs d'un article dans RS Magazine (photos 066 à 068).

Extérieur

Le noir qui lui va bien est la couleur qu'elle arborait à sa sortie d'usine. Si quelques travaux de peinture ont pu être faits avant 2016 et son achat par son propriétaire actuel, ils ont été bien faits avec une épaisseur de peinture constante sur toute l'auto. Surtout ils n'étaient pas dus à un quelconque choc. Quelques petits défauts notamment sur le bouclier avant ou le capot moteur sont à noter (photos 025, 027 et 028). Les protections placées devant les roues arrières montrent des craquelures mais restent entières (photos 024 et 026). Le monogramme Roadster, spécifique à cette série limitée, est bien présent.
La capote et sa lunette arrière souple bénéficient d’une armature refaite en 2018.
L'auto repose sur des jantes alliage type Cup de 17" chaussées de pneumatiques Hankook présentant une usure de 20%. La roue de secours est équipée de la même façon.

Intérieur

L’America Roadster possède toujours son intérieur cuir d'origine, de couleur marron clair/beige. Tous les instruments de la large planche de bord fonctionnent. Les compteurs sont logiquement en miles. L’odomètre affiche 92380 miles (148671 km), dont 13000 (20921 km) avec l'actuel propriétaire. La partie supérieure de la planche de bord ne semble pas avoir souffert, une chose pas si évidente sur des Porsche californiennes. Derrière les sièges à commande électrique, on ne trouve pas deux places additionnelles mais des espaces moquettés prévus pour accueillir quelques bagages supplémentaires.
Côté équipements, on retrouve l'air conditionné, un système hifi stéréo et la fermeture centralisée.

Mécanique

Le moteur de 3,6 litres et 250 ch est ‘matching numbers’ et accolé à sa boîte 5 vitesses manuelle. En 2016, le propriétaire actuel a fait procéder à une révision complète comprenant l’embrayage, la distribution et l’étanchéité moteur. Le dernier entretien date de fin 2020. La liste des travaux comprend la vidange avec remplacement du filtre à huile, le remplacement du liquide de freins et de l'accumulateur de pression d'assistance au freinage, la vérification de l'éclairage et des différents organes du véhicule.
À cette occasion, le contrôle technique a été passé ne révélant que des soucis mineurs : l'orientation d'un des feux de brouillard avant et la protection des amortisseurs avant.


Enchérir et commenter

Enchères non commencées
Nombre total d'enchères 0
Nombre total de commentaires 0

Enchérir

Temps restant
Pendant les deux dernières minutes des enchères, l'horloge se réinitialise à deux minutes après chaque nouvelle enchère. Cela se répète jusqu'à ce qu'il n'y ait plus d'enchère et que la vente se termine.

Fin des enchères

Ajouter un commentaire

Pour commenter, connectez-vous ou devenez membre