Lot N°627

1980 • Citroën Méhari 4x4

Best bid:€25,000

Lot number627

Seller JACK37

Private seller

Languages FR

Location of the lot Murs (84), France

Bullet point A rare opportunity

and also Less than 30000 kilometres for this fully original example

Serial numberVF7AYCE0000CE0146

Engine capacity602 cc

Number of cylinders2

Transmission Manual

Number of gears 4 + réducteur

Estimate €30,000 - 40,000

Description

History

Nowadays, the name of Count Roland de La Poype only resounds in the memory of history and automobile enthusiasts. Resistance fighter, fighter pilot and companion of the Liberation, it is nevertheless to this authentic hero that we owe the Mehari. Inspired by the idea, already explored by independent Citroën designers, of an "all-terrain" derivative of the 2CV - we remember in particular the "Baby-Brousse" of 1963 - Roland de La Poype took over the chassis and equipped it with an open body with a new design, made of ABS (acrylonitrile butadiene styrene) dyed in the mass. This time, it was no longer a question of limiting itself to a strictly utilitarian vocation in order to crawl on the more or less practicable tracks of Africa or Asia, but to propose a recreational vehicle, taking advantage of the basic qualities of the "Deuche". Initially presented in May 1968 (it was not the ideal time), the car was closely derived from the Dyane 6 and had its 602 cc twin cylinder engine. Designed for touring, it allowed direct contact with nature; according to the desires and needs of each person, it was possible to remove the entire tarpaulin used as a roof and to lower the windscreen, thus obtaining a sort of small, light and mischievous multi-purpose Jeep, capable of going just about anywhere.
However, it was not until the spring of 1979 that Citroën agreed to equip the Mehari with four-wheel drive, which seemed to be a matter of course on such a machine. Despite the limited power of its flat-twin engine, the car then decisively strengthened its crossing capabilities. Unlike the 2CV Sahara of yesteryear, the Mehari 4x4 had only one engine; its rear axle remained inactive in normal traffic and had to be engaged using a special lever, which was close to the gearbox control. To get out of the most difficult situations, it is also possible to lock the differential via a control located between the front seats. Although significantly more expensive than the two-wheel drive version, and despite the care taken in its development, the 4x4 was not as successful as expected and was discontinued in 1983, making it a rare and much sought-after variant. And it's one of the 1213 produced that we're offering today. Dating from 1980, it is currently in the hands of its third owner, who acquired it in August 2006 and has covered approximately 500 kilometres on the 26925 that the meter shows - a figure that he certifies as accurate. The car is registered with a normal vehicle registration number and is offered with a complete file of invoices allowing its history to be traced. It is neither pledged nor guaranteed and, according to the seller, has not been involved in any accidents. The technical control will be passed for the sale.

Exterior

Hoggar beige (manufacturer's reference AC 125), the bodywork is original and has not been modified. There is no trace of corrosion on the chassis. All the fittings specific to the 4x4 version are present (tubular protections at the front and rear, Acadiane rear lights, spare wheel housed in a special receptacle on the bonnet). Note the period sticker mentioning "4x4 Citroën" on the left rear side panel and the fuel tank mouth on the right rear fender, also specific to the model. The Meteor Cruiser tyres, size 135 R15 and practically new, are fitted to the original sheet metal rims and the spare wheel. The rear rims show slight traces of corrosion (photos 023 et 025).

Interior

Both seats are upholstered in black Skaï; the driver's seat is slightly damaged at the seat (photo 034), but the vendor will provide a replacement in good condition. The equipment is consistent with that fitted at the factory, with its single dial steering wheel identical to that of contemporary 2CVs and Dyanes and its characteristic four dial instrument panel, featuring a rev counter and, next to the left-hand air vent, a counter indicating the number of hours spent with the rear drive engaged - in this respect it is remarkable to note that use in 'all wheel drive' only reaches 49 hours in total. This instrumentation is fully functional. The pictograms on the switches to the left of the steering wheel show signs of wear (photo 030). The floor is cracked on the driver's side (photo 035).

Mechanical

The engine and transmission are "matching numbers" and have not been serviced recently. The last engine oil change was in June 2015 - 125 kilometres have been covered since then! -It will be carried out before the sale.


Bids and comments

Best bid €25,000 by Francois

Reserve almost met

Total number of bids 7
Total number of comments 0

Add a comment

To comment, log in or become a member

Lot N°627

Citroën Méhari 4x4 • 1980

Mise à prix:19 000 € Enchères à venir

Numéro du lot627

Vendeur JACK37

Vendeur particulier

Langues FR

Lieu où se trouve le lot Murs (84), France

Le plus Une opportunité rarissime

Et aussi Moins de 30000 kilomètres pour cet exemplaire entièrement d’origine

Numéro de sérieVF7AYCE0000CE0146

Cylindrée602 cm3

Nombre de cylindres2

Transmission Manuelle

Nombre de rapports 4 + réducteur

Estimation 30 000 – 40 000 euros

Description

Historique

De nos jours, le nom du comte Roland de La Poype ne résonne plus que dans la mémoire des passionnés d’histoire et d’automobile. Résistant, pilote de chasse et compagnon de la Libération, c’est pourtant à cet authentique héros que nous devons la Méhari. S’inspirant de l’idée, déjà explorée par des créateurs indépendants de Citroën, d’un dérivé « tous chemins » de la 2 CV — on se souvient notamment de la « Baby-Brousse » de 1963 —, Roland de La Poype en reprend le châssis pour l’équiper d’une carrosserie ouverte au design inédit, réalisée en ABS (acrylonitrile butadiène styrène) teinté dans la masse. Cette fois, il ne s’agit plus de se borner à une vocation strictement utilitariste afin de crapahuter sur les pistes plus ou moins praticables d’Afrique ou d’Asie, mais de proposer un véhicule récréatif, tirant profit des qualités de base de la « Deuche ». Initialement présentée en mai 1968 (ce n’était pas le moment idéal), l’auto dérive étroitement de la Dyane 6 et récupère son bicylindre de 602 cm3. Conçue pour la balade, elle permet un contact direct avec la nature ; au gré des envies et des besoins de chacun, il est en effet possible de démonter l’intégralité de la bâche tenant lieu de toiture et de rabaisser le pare-brise, obtenant ainsi une sorte de petite Jeep polyvalente, légère et espiègle, capable de passer à peu près partout.
Il faudra cependant attendre le printemps de 1979 pour que Citroën consente à doter la Méhari de la transmission aux quatre roues qui semblait pourtant aller de soi sur une telle machine. En dépit de la puissance limitée de son flat-twin, l’auto renforce alors de façon décisive ses capacités de franchissement. Contrairement à la 2 CV Sahara de jadis, la Méhari 4x4 ne comporte qu’un seul moteur ; son pont arrière demeure inactif en circulation normale et doit être enclenché à l’aide d’un levier spécifique, qui avoisine celui du réducteur et la commande de boîte. Pour s’extraire des situations les plus difficiles, il est également possible de bloquer le différentiel via une commande située entre les sièges avant. Sensiblement plus onéreuse que la version à deux roues motrices, et malgré le soin apporté à sa mise au point, la 4x4 n’a toutefois pas remporté le succès escompté et a été abandonnée dès 1983, ce qui en fait une variante rare et très convoitée. Et c’est l’un des 1213 exemplaires produits que nous vous proposons aujourd’hui. Datant de 1980, il se trouve actuellement entre les mains de son troisième propriétaire, qui l’a acquis en août 2006 et a parcouru environ 500 kilomètres à son volant, sur les 26925 qu’affiche le compteur — valeur qu’il certifie exacte. Immatriculée en carte grise normale et proposée avec un dossier exhaustif de factures permettant de retracer son historique, cette auto n’est ni gagée, ni garantie et, selon le vendeur, n’a pas été accidentée. Le contrôle technique sera passé pour la vente.

Extérieur

De couleur beige Hoggar (référence constructeur AC 125), la carrosserie est d’origine et n’a pas subi de modification. On ne note aucune trace de corrosion sur le châssis. L’ensemble de l’accastillage propre à la version 4x4 est présent (protections tubulaires à l’avant et à l’arrière, feux arrière d’Acadiane, roue de secours logée dans un réceptacle spécial sur le capot). On remarque l’autocollant d’époque mentionnant « 4x4 Citroën » sur la ridelle, à l’arrière gauche, et l’embouchure du réservoir d’essence sur l’aile arrière droite, également spécifique au modèle. Les pneus de marque Meteor Cruiser, de dimensions 135 R15 et pratiquement neufs, garnissent les jantes en tôle d’origine ainsi que la roue de secours. Les jantes arrière présentent de légères traces de corrosion (photos 023 et 025).

Intérieur

Les deux sièges sont revêtus de Skaï noir ; celui du conducteur est légèrement endommagé au niveau de l’assise (photo 034), mais le vendeur fournira une garniture de remplacement en bon état. L’équipement est conforme à celui monté en usine, avec son volant monobranche identique à celui des 2 CV et Dyane contemporaines et son tableau de bord caractéristique à quatre cadrans, comportant un compte-tours et, à côté de l’aérateur gauche, un compteur indiquant le nombre d’heures passées avec la transmission arrière enclenchée — à cet égard, il est remarquable de noter que l’utilisation en « toutes roues motrices » n’atteint que 49 heures au total. Cette instrumentation est entièrement fonctionnelle. On remarque des traces d’usure sur les pictogrammes des interrupteurs situés à gauche du volant (photo 030). Le plancher est fendillé côté conducteur (photo 035).

Mécanique

Le moteur et la transmission sont « matching numbers » et n’ont pas fait l’objet d’interventions récentes. La dernière vidange moteur remontant à juin 2015 — 125 kilomètres ont été parcourus depuis ! —, elle sera effectuée avant la vente.


Enchérir et commenter

Enchères non commencées
Nombre total d'enchères 0
Nombre total de commentaires 0

Enchérir

Temps restant
Pendant les deux dernières minutes des enchères, l'horloge se réinitialise à deux minutes après chaque nouvelle enchère. Cela se répète jusqu'à ce qu'il n'y ait plus d'enchère et que la vente se termine.

Fin des enchères

Ajouter un commentaire

Pour commenter, connectez-vous ou devenez membre