Lot N°681

1993 • Peugeot 905 Spider UNSOLD

Best bid:No bid

Lot number681

Seller philippeN

Private seller

Languages FR

Location of the lot Montauban (82), France

BULLET POINT Third to the 1993 Spider Cup Championship engaged by Oreca

AND ALSO Around 130 kms drove since it left the race team with a lot of mechanical parts

Serial numberMK68 n°03

Engine capacity1905 cc

Number of cylinders4

Transmission Manual

Number of gears 5

ESTIMATE €65,000 - 80,000

Description

History

Since its inception, the lion brand has maintained a passion for motorsport by making it its rolling laboratory. The 905 was an emblematic race car of the 1990s in long distance racing, thanks to its victory in the Le Mans 24 Hours in 1993. From this endurance prototype, a spider version was derived in 1992 for the European Spider Cup monotype championship, with a smaller engine, lighter weight and, of course, no roof or windows. These vehicles are extremely rare, as only 28 chassis were assembled between 1992 and 1993. This one is even more exceptional as it is the third of the 6 MK68 chassis produced by Martini in 1993, of which only 5 remain in existence. This car, acquired by the prestigious Oreca team, finished 3rd in the 1993 championship after having obtained the most regular results of the season. Although in very good aesthetic and mechanical condition, it underwent a complete overhaul, including a new engine and gearbox. It was sold 3 years later to a famous driver who took part in a hill climb and drove it for 100 km. He sold it to a collector who in turn sold it, without having used it, to its current owner in 2012. The latter will drive 30 km on the Pau circuit following a general maintenance carried out in May 2018 and detailed in the Mechanical section.
This 905 is powered by a Peugeot XU9J4 engine, a 1905cc in-line four-cylinder with aluminium block, double overhead camshaft cylinder head and 4 valves per cylinder, mounted longitudinally in front of the rear wheels. It develops between 220 and 230 horsepower at 7,500 rpm, with a torque of 21 mkg at 6,000 rpm. This power is transmitted through a Hewland F3A 5-speed gearbox with reverse gear. Braking is provided by Brembo 4-piston ventilated disc brakes. These racing components are mounted on a lightweight aluminium alloy chassis, which means that the car weighs only 525 kg.
For a racing driver or a collector, this exceptional machine is a rare opportunity. Its use will be limited to tracks, but there are many opportunities to enjoy it: in addition to track days, the 905 Spider is now homologated for historic races, events, and more.
The car will be delivered with its user's manual, as well as the original manuals from the Peugeot Talbot Sport workshops concerning the engine and peripherals management. A bill of sale from the previous owner is also available.

Exterior

The sleek, streamlined design, with its emphasis on aerodynamics and downforce through the Peugeot-stamped front blade and huge rear spoiler, contributes to the car's racing atmosphere. The central driving position offers a unique and minimalist silhouette in addition to providing optimum vision for the driver. Its factory Peugeot Sport livery is proudly displayed with the company's red, blue and yellow stripes running along its sides and front. The main sponsor, Shell, is displayed on the front bonnet, while other sponsors and suppliers are present on the side skirts and rear bubble. The removable composite fibre body panels weigh only 35 kg. The magnesium rims are extremely rare on the market and are designed for performance. The tyres currently fitted are vintage Michelin slicks and therefore need to be changed. They can be replaced either with a Michelin SD7 mount with dimensions 20/59/15 at the front and 23/62/16 at the rear, or with Avon 190/570/15 at the front and 240/600/16 at the rear.

Interior

The cockpit in the centre rear position of this single-seater is designed for performance and is devoid of all artifice. Behind the Sparco racing wheel, the dashboard indicates what is important to know on the track: the engine speed, then the water and oil temperatures, the oil pressure, as well as the front/rear braking distribution. Also of note is the presence of a circuit breaker on the left-hand side. With the aim of saving as much weight as possible, the interior is free of all superfluous elements, leaving just enough room for the bucket seat and Sparco harnesses.

Mechanical

At the end of its competitive engagement, the Oreca team carried out an initial overhaul of the vehicle, including a change of engine and gearbox gearing.
A general maintenance, carried out by the current owner in 2018, included the following work:
● Complete engine check at cylinder and valve level
● Engine and gearbox oil change
● Changing the spark plugs
● Ultrasonic cleaning of injectors
● Change of the accelerator cable
● Complete timing, belts (timing and oil pump) and new rollers
● Installation of a new water pump
● Change of pipes and hoses
● Complete overhaul of the cooling system
● Overhaul and adjustment of the gearbox
● Change of clutch
● Change of the wiring harness
● Overhaul of the dashboard
● Changing the brake pads and discs
● Changing the brake master cylinder
● Bleeding of the brakes
● The installation of a new FIA-approved custom-made fuel tank
● Changing the fuel pump
● Fitting of approved safety harnesses
● And more!
To make it easier to operate, the current owner also chose to opt for the following modifications, both of which are reversible:
● The installation of a cooling fan
● The addition of an alternator to avoid removing the bodywork to change the batteries or to start the car without an auxiliary battery.
Since this revision, the car has only been driven 30 kilometres.
A little anecdote: the engine still has the official Peugeot Talbot Sport seal from the 1993 season.
In addition, the following spares are part of the lot:
● 2 new original exhausts (one straight pipe in Devil stainless steel and the other with silencer)
● An external auxiliary battery with the appropriate plug
● 2 quick-releases (front and rear)
● 3 brake discs
● Several brake pads
● An exhaust manifold
● One Magneti Marelli engine management system
● 8 rims with mounted tyres (4 slicks + 4 rain) on Tecnomagnesio rims, highly sought after
● 4 sets of additional suspension springs
● 4 push rods (suspension arms)
● 7 new suspension wishbones (with at least one ball joint on each)
● Plus various technical documents on the engine and gearbox, promotional leaflets...


Bids and comments

Best bid No bids yet
Total number of bids 0
Total number of comments 3

Add a comment

To comment, log in or become a member

Lot N°681

Peugeot 905 Spider • 1993

Mise à prix:43 000 € Enchères à venir

Numéro du lot681

Vendeur philippeN

Vendeur particulier

Langues FR

Lieu où se trouve le lot Montauban (82), France

les plus 3ème au Championnat Spider Cup 1993, engagé par Oreca

et aussi 130 km parcourus depuis mise à niveau, avec nombreux composants mécaniques neufs

Numéro de sérieMK68 n°03

Cylindrée1905 cm3

Nombre de cylindres4

Transmission Manuelle

Nombre de rapports 5

ESTIMATION 65 000 – 80 000 euros

Description

Historique

La marque au lion a depuis ses débuts entretenu une passion pour le sport automobile en en faisant son laboratoire roulant. La 905 fut un bolide emblématique des années 90 en course d’endurance, grâce à sa victoire aux 24 Heures du Mans en 1993. De ce prototype d’endurance sera parallèlement dérivée en 1992 une version spider destinée au championnat monotype européen Spider Cup, au moteur moins poussé, plus légère, et bien sûr sans toit ni vitre. Ces véhicules sont extrêmement rares, puisque seulement 28 châssis ont été assemblés de 1992 à 1993. Celui-ci est d’autant plus exceptionnel qu’il est le troisième des 6 châssis MK68 produits par Martini en 1993 dont il ne reste que 5 exemplaires en existence. Cet exemplaire acquis par la prestigieuse écurie Oreca a terminé à la 3ème place du championnat en 1993 après avoir obtenu les résultats les plus réguliers de la saison. Bien qu’en très bon état esthétique et mécanique, elle fait alors l’objet d’une remise à niveau complète incluant le changement du moteur et des pignons de boîte. Elle sera vendue 3 ans plus tard à un pilote de renom qui participera à une course de côte et effectuera 100 Km à son volant. Il la revendra à un collectionneur qui la cédera à son tour, sans s’en être servi, à son propriétaire actuel en 2012. Ce dernier roulera 30 kilomètres sur le circuit de Pau à la suite d’une révision générale effectuée en mai 2018 et détaillée dans la partie Mécanique.
Cette 905 est motorisée par un moteur Peugeot XU9J4, un quatre cylindres en ligne de 1905 cm3 avec bloc en aluminium, culasse à double arbre à cames en tête et 4 soupapes par cylindre, monté en position longitudinale en avant des roues arrière. Il développe une puissance comprise entre 220 et 230 chevaux à 7500 t/min, pour un couple de 21 mkg à 6000 t/min. Cette puissance est transmise par une boîte de vitesses Hewland de type F3A à 5 rapports dotée d’une marche arrière. Le freinage est assuré par des freins à disques ventilés Brembo à 4 pistons. Ces organes de course reposent sur un châssis en alliage d’aluminium, matériau léger qui fera revendiquer à la voiture seulement 525 kg sur la balance.
Pour un pilote aguerri ou un collectionneur, cet engin d’exception constitue une rare opportunité. Son utilisation se cantonnera au roulage sur piste mais il existe de nombreuses occasions de se faire plaisir : outre les track days, la 905 Spider est en effet aujourd’hui homologuée pour les courses en VHC et en championnat de France Historique des circuits FFSA et autres.
La voiture sera livrée avec son manuel d’utilisation, ainsi les manuels d’origine des ateliers Peugeot Talbot Sport d’époque concernant la gestion moteur et des périphériques. Un certificat de vente de l’ancien propriétaire est également disponible.

Extérieur

Les formes lisses, réduites à l’essentiel et privilégiant l’aérodynamisme ainsi que l’appui grâce à sa lame avant et son immense aileron arrière estampillé Peugeot, participent à l’ambiance course du véhicule. La position centrale de conduite offre une silhouette unique et minimaliste en plus d’offrir une vision optimale à son pilote. Sa livrée d’usine Peugeot sport est fièrement mise en valeur grâce aux bandes rouge, bleue et jaune de la firme courant le long de ses flancs et à l’avant. Le sponsor principal, Shell, est affiché sur le capot avant, tandis que les autres sponsors et fournisseurs sont présents au niveau des jupes latérales et sur la bulle arrière. Les panneaux de carrosserie amovibles en fibre composite ne pèsent que 35 kg. Les jantes en magnésium extrêmement rares sur le marché privilégient la performance. Les pneus actuellement montés sont des slicks Michelin d'époque et sont donc à changer. Leur remplacement peut être fait soit avec une monture Michelin SD7 de dimension 20/59/15 à l’avant et 23/62/16 à l’arrière, soit par des Avon en 190/570/15 à l’avant et 240/600/16 à l’arrière.

Intérieur

Le cockpit en position centrale arrière de cette monoplace est uniquement pensé pour la performance et se passe de tout artifice. Derrière le volant course Sparco, l’instrumentation indique ce qu’il importe de savoir sur la piste : le régime moteur, puis la température de l’eau et de l’huile, la pression d’huile, ainsi que la répartition avant/arrière du freinage. On note également la présence sur la gauche d’un coupe-circuit. Avec l’objectif d’économiser un maximum de poids, l’habitacle se passe de tout élément superflu laissant tout juste la place pour son siège baquet et ses harnais Sparco.

Mécanique

A la fin de son engagement en compétition, l’écurie Oreca effectue une première remise à niveau du véhicule comportant le changement du moteur ainsi que de la pignonnerie de la boîte de vitesses.
Une révision générale, effectuée par le propriétaire actuel en 2018, a compris les travaux suivants :
● La vérification complète moteur au niveau des cylindres et soupapes
● La vidange moteur et boîte
● Changement des bougies
● Le nettoyage des injecteurs aux ultrasons
● Distribution complète, courroies (distribution et pompe à huile) et galets neufs
● La pose d’une nouvelle pompe à eau
● Le changement des tuyaux et durites
● La révision complète du circuit de refroidissement
● La révision et réglage de la boîte
● Le changement du câble d’accélérateur
● Le changement du faisceau électrique
● La révision du tableau de bord
● Le changement des plaquettes et disques
● Le changement du maître-cylindre de freins
● L’installation d’un réservoir homologué FIA d’origine neuf sur mesure
● Le changement de la pompe à essence
● La purge des freins
● Le changement d’embrayage
● La pose de harnais homologués
● Et d'autres !
Afin d’en faciliter l’exploitation, le propriétaire actuel a également choisi d’opter pour les modifications suivantes, toutes deux réversibles :
● La pose d’un ventilateur de refroidissement
● L’ajout d’un alternateur pour éviter d’ôter la carrosserie pour changer les batteries ou encore pour démarrer la voiture sans batterie annexe.
Depuis cette révision, la voiture n’a parcouru que 30 kilomètres.
Petite anecdote : le moteur possède encore le plombage officiel de Peugeot Talbot Sport de la saison 1993.
En outre, les pièces suivantes font partie du lot :
● 2 échappements d’origine neufs (un libre en inox Devil et l’autre avec silencieux)
● Une batterie annexe externe avec la prise adaptée
● 2 lève-rapides (avant et arrière)
● 3 disques de freins
● Plusieurs plaquettes de freins
● Un collecteur d’échappement
● Un boîtier électronique gestion moteur Magneti Marelli
● 8 jantes avec pneus montés (4 slicks + 4 pluie) sur jantes Technomagnesio, très recherchées
● 4 jeux de ressorts de suspension supplémentaires
● 4 push rods (bras de suspension)
● 7 triangles de suspension neufs (avec au moins une rotule sur chacun)
● Plus différents documents techniques sur le moteur et la boite, plaquettes promotionnelles...


Enchérir et commenter

Enchères non commencées
Nombre total d'enchères 0
Nombre total de commentaires 3

Enchérir

Temps restant
Pendant les deux dernières minutes des enchères, l'horloge se réinitialise à deux minutes après chaque nouvelle enchère. Cela se répète jusqu'à ce qu'il n'y ait plus d'enchère et que la vente se termine.

Fin des enchères

Ajouter un commentaire

Pour commenter, connectez-vous ou devenez membre