Lot N°711

1959 • Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Zagato - prototype 00001 SOLD

Sold privately by leBolide

Lot number711

Seller Red59

Private seller

Languages FR, GB, IT

Location of the lot Bergamo, Italy

Bullet point The Sprint Zagato prototype presented at the Geneva Motor Show and winner of the Italian 1300 cc GT Championship in 1960

and also Full history, since 40 years in the same family

Serial numberAR10126 00001

Engine capacity1290 cc

Number of cylinders4

Transmission Manual

Number of gears 5

Description

History

The Giulietta is an emblematic Alfa Romeo model that has been declined in all body styles. In turn coupe, saloon and spider, its sporty character reached its peak with the Sprint versions, culminating in the examples bodied by Zagato. After a few special orders placed with "Zagatino", as Enzo Ferrari liked to call him, as early as 1956, and known under the name of Sprint Veloce Zagato (SVZ), Alfa Romeo entrusted him with the production of a small series in 1959, which was simply called the Sprint Zagato (SZ), or also Tipo AR10126. More sophisticated and lighter than the SVZ, it was born with a rounded tail (coda tonda) before evolving into a truncated tail (coda tronca). 

Designed by Ercole Spada, the streamlined lines are simplified and the use of aluminum panels allowed for a weight significantly under the 800 kg threshold. With its tubular steel subframe, its 2.25 m wheelbase, its 1290 cc twin-cam 4-cylinder alloy engine, fed by two Weber double-body Ø40 carburettors, delivering 100 bhp at 6,500 rpm and its 5-speed manual gearbox transmitting the power to the rear wheels, the SZ was soon to make its mark in competition. 

The SZ prototype was officially presented at the Geneva Motor Show in March 1960 (photos 136 and 142). It bore the chassis number AR10126 00001. This is the car shown here. It was the first of a series of some 200 cars and was produced on 19 December 1959. As can be seen from the documents of the time, the car was painted in silver grey and the headlights were covered. Barely 8 weeks later, it started in the Naples Grand Prix entered by the Scuderia Sant Ambroeus, of which Elio Zagato was one of the founders, and driven by Sergio Pedretti alias "Kim" (he had chosen this pseudonym in reference to the actress Kim Novak, of whom he was a fervent fan). In the meantime, the front had been modified and the headlight fairing removed to provide better lighting, and the colour had been changed to red, the official colour of Italy in competition. However, 00001 still retains a number of Geneva details that make it unique and distinguish it from the production models, such as the door handles, the seats inherited from the SVZ and some of the dashboard fittings. 

After a 2nd place overall and a class victory in Naples, Kim won another 2nd place overall in the Giro di Calabria, followed by numerous victories crowned at the end of 1960 by the title of Italian Champion in the 1300 cc Grand Touring category (photos 137 to 139). A dedication by the driver is present on the inside of the left door (photo 077). It is likely that the engine was prepared by Facetti, the tuner hired by Scuderia Sant'Ambroeus, which produced up to 115 hp. 

The car continued its sporting career in the following years in the successive hands of Luciano Conti and Arnaldo Cappa. The Bolognese coachbuilder Giuseppe Brusiani, still in business today, acquired it according to his memory in 1968/69. At that time it was white and the engine was dismantled.  After entrusting the reassembly to the now defunct Officine Dardani and repainting the body in red -that was his profession!-, Brusiani put it on display in his workshop and never used it. He sold it 5 or 6 years later to Edo Ansaloni, creator of a military museum in Bologna, who died in 2020. In 1982, it was acquired by a historic car enthusiast from Northern Italy and had the Italian registration certificate drawn up in the name of Veteran Racing Cars Bergamo, of which he was a founding member. His untimely death in 1989 led to the transfer of ownership to his heirs who still own the car. 00001 has thus spent its entire life in Italy and has a clear history. 

The odometer shows 19515 km, impossible of course to guarantee but perhaps real. Since the end of its agonistic career, the car has indeed barely been driven. It has taken part in a few meetings of the Registro Italiano Alfa Romeo and travels between 200 and 400 km per year for maintenance. The vehicle is homologated by the AutoMotoClub Storico Italiano (ASI). A technical inspection was carried out in August 2020. 

The seller does not report any malfunctions. A detailed condition report is given below. In summary, 00001 is now in excellent working order and ready to go on the road. It still has its original engine, as confirmed by the Alfa Romeo archives (photo 143), and this is exceptional for a racing machine. Although it also presents very well, it is not in concours condition. The buyer can choose to use it as is, or to return it to the condition it was in when presented in Geneva, or when it won the Italian Championship. Whatever the choice, 00001 is and will remain a unique car!

Exterior

The bodywork is original, as it left the Zagato workshops with minor modifications after the 1960 Geneva Show. It is noticeable from the period photos that the air intakes surrounding the vertical grille had two horizontal bars (photos 140). Today there are three. One can imagine that racing had left some traces and that these decorative elements were replaced by production parts. Minor defects can be seen on the slightly pitted headlight rings (photos 022, 049 and 050), the rear view mirror (photo 052), the front grille (this one also shows a small impact mark - photos 020, 023 and 024), the rear plate lights (photo 035). The roof edge on the right side is cracked and deformed (photo 028), the one on the left side has scratches (photo 041). The window frames show some minor scratches (right side, photos 028 and 030, left side, photos 041 and 042). There are paint chips on the front of the car, on the Zagato logo on the right front wing and on the seal of the left door (photo 132). The underside of the left door is also deformed (photo 128). The boot seal rubber is torn at the top left (photo 072). There are paint blisters on the right door handle (photo 027) and the end of the left rear wing (photo 038). The side windows are made of acrylic glass. Almost insignificant traces of oxidation can be seen on the fuel tank filler hole in the trunk (photo 068), on various parts of the front axle (arms and tie rods, photos 129 and 130), as well as on the underside of the chassis (photo 031). The original rims are fitted with Pirelli Cinturato CN36 175/70 VR 15 tyres with a remaining profile of about 70%. The spare wheel is fitted with a new Pirelli.

Interior

The interior is completely original. The leatherette seats and floor mats have a patina consistent with the age of the vehicle (photos 093 to 098). There are traces of corrosion on the seat frames (photos 124 and 125). The chrome on the door handles (photo 085), window regulators (photo 084), rear window scissors (photos 117 and 118), handbrake handle (photo 091) and glovebox release button (photo 103) is tarnished and slightly pitted (photos 121 and 122). On the passenger side, the floor is worn and cracked (photo 113). This defect is hidden by the floor mats covering it. The chrome of the gear lever stem is faded (photo 105). The original instrumentation is complete and in working order. Sabelt harnesses have been fitted.

Mechanical

It is exceptional that a car that has been racing still has its original ‘matching numbers’ engine after 60 years as is the case here (photo 143). It has not been in need of major work for 40 years, nor has the transmission, apart from periodic maintenance which was last carried out in 2020.


Comments

No Bid, Sold privately by leBolide
Total number of bids 0
Total number of comments 12

Add a comment

To comment, log in or become a member

Lot N°711

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Zagato - prototype 00001 • 1959 VENDU

Vendue en transaction privée par leBolide

Numéro du lot711

Vendeur Red59

Vendeur particulier

Langues FR, GB, IT

Lieu où se trouve le lot Bergamo, Italie

Le plus Le prototype de la Sprint Zagato présenté au Salon de Genève et vainqueur du Championnat GT Italien 1300 cm3 en 1960

Et aussi Historique complet, depuis 40 ans dans la même famille

Numéro de sérieAR10126 00001

Cylindrée1290 cm3

Nombre de cylindres4

Transmission Manuelle

Nombre de rapports 5

Description

Historique

Modèle emblématique d'Alfa Romeo, la Giulietta a été déclinée dans tous les styles de carrosserie. Tour à tour coupé, berline et spider, son caractère sportif a atteint son apogée avec les versions Sprint, culminant avec les exemplaires carrossés par Zagato. Après quelques commandes particulières passées dès 1956 à "Zagatino", comme se plaisait à le surnommer Enzo Ferrari, et répertoriées sous le nom de Sprint Veloce Zagato (SVZ), Alfa Romeo confie en 1959 à ce dernier la production d'une petite série qui sera simplement appelée Sprint Zagato (SZ), ou encore Tipo AR10126. Plus aboutie et plus légère que la SVZ, elle naîtra avec un arrière arrondi (coda tonda) avant d’évoluer vers un arrière tronqué (coda tronca). 

Signées Ercole Spada, les lignes profilées sont épurées afin de simplifier le moulage des panneaux en aluminium dont l'adoption permet de passer largement sous la barre des 800 kg. Avec son treillis tubulaire en acier, son empattement de 2,25 m, son moteur 4 cylindres double arbre à cames de 1290 cm3 en aluminium, alimenté par deux carburateurs Weber double corps Ø40, délivrant 100 ch à 6500 tr/mn et sa boîte de vitesses manuelle à 5 rapports assurant la transmission de la puissance aux roues arrière, la SZ s’imposera rapidement en compétition. 

Le prototype de la SZ est présenté officiellement au salon de Genève en mars 1960. Il porte le numéro de châssis AR10126 00001. Il s’agit de la voiture proposée ici. Première d'une série de quelque 200 exemplaires, elle a vu le jour le 19 décembre 1959. Comme on le discerne sur les documents d’époque (photo 140), la voiture était alors peinte en gris argent et les phares étaient carénés. A peine 8 semaines plus tard, elle prend le départ du Grand Prix de Naples, sous les couleurs de l’Ecurie Sant Ambroeus, dont Elio Zagato était l'un des fondateurs, pilotée par Sergio Pedretti alias "Kim" (il avait choisi ce pseudonyme en référence à l’actrice Kim Novak dont il était un fervent admirateur). Entretemps, la face avant avait été modifiée et le carénage des phares supprimé afin d’offrir un éclairage de meilleure qualité, et la couleur était passée au rouge, la couleur officielle de l’Italie en compétition. 00001 conserve toutefois jusqu’à ce jour un certain nombre de détails de Genève qui la rendent unique et la distinguent des exemplaires de production, comme les poignées de portière, les sièges hérités de la SVZ ou encore certains aménagements au tableau de bord. 

Après une 2ème place au général et une victoire de catégorie à Naples, Kim remporte une nouvelle 2ème place absolue au Tour de Calabre, suivie de nombreuses victoires couronnées fin 1960 par un titre de Champion d’Italie en Grand Tourisme 1300 cm3. Une dédicace du pilote est présente à l'intérieur de la portière gauche (photo 077). Il est vraisemblable que le moteur avait été amélioré par Facetti, le préparateur retenu par la Scuderia Sant Ambroeus, qui en tirait jusqu’à 115 ch. 

La voiture poursuit sa carrière sportive les années suivantes aux mains successives de Luciano Conti et Arnaldo Cappa. Le carrossier bolognais Giuseppe Brusiani, toujours en activité à ce jour, l’acquiert selon son souvenir en 1968/69. Elle était alors blanche et le moteur était démonté. Après en avoir confié le remontage à l’Officine Dardani, disparue depuis, et avoir repeint la caisse en rouge - c’était son métier ! - Brusiani la mit en exposition dans son atelier et ne s’en servit jamais. Il la revendit 5 ou 6 ans plus tard à Edo Ansaloni, créateur d’un musée militaire à Bologne et décédé en 2020. En 1982, un passionné de voitures historiques du Nord de l’Italie l’acquiert et fait établir le certificat d'immatriculation italien au nom du Veteran Racing Cars Bergamo dont il est l’animateur. Son décès prématuré en 1989 entraîne le transfert de propriété à ses héritiers qui la possèdent toujours. 00001 a donc passé sa vie en Italie et bénéficie d’un historique limpide. 

Le compteur affiche 19515 km, impossibles bien sûr à garantir mais peut-être réels. Depuis la fin de sa carrière agonistique, la voiture a en effet très peu roulé. Elle a participé à quelques réunions du Registro Italiano Alfa Romeo et parcourt annuellement entre 200 et 400 km pour son entretien. Le véhicule est homologué par l’AutoMotoClub Storico Italiano (ASI). Le contrôle technique a été effectué en août 2020. Le vendeur ne signale aucun défaut de fonctionnement. 

Un rapport d’état détaillé est donné ci-après. En résumé, 00001 est aujourd’hui en excellent état de fonctionnement et prête à prendre la route. Elle possède toujours son moteur d’origine, c’est confirmé par les archives Alfa Romeo (photo 143), et c’est exceptionnel pour une machine de course. Bien qu’étant aussi en très bon état de présentation, elle n’est toutefois pas en état concours. L’acquéreur pourra choisir de l’utiliser telle quelle, ou de procéder à une restauration pour la reconfigurer telle qu’elle fut présentée à Genève ou telle qu’elle remporta le Championnat d’Italie. Quel que soit son choix, 00001 est et restera une automobile unique !

Extérieur

La carrosserie est d’origine, telle que sortie des ateliers de Zagato avec les petites modifications intervenues après le Salon de Genève de 1960. On remarque sur les photos d’époque que les prises d’air entourant la calandre verticale comportaient deux barrettes horizontales (photos 140). On en compte aujourd’hui trois. On peut imaginer que la course avait laissé quelques traces et que ces éléments décoratifs ont été remplacés par des pièces de production. Des défauts mineurs sont visibles sur les cercles des phares légèrement piqués (photos 022, 049 et 050), le rétroviseur (photo 052), la calandre (celle-ci présente aussi une petite trace de choc - photos 020, 023 et 024), les feux d'éclairage de plaque arrière (photo 035). La bordure de toit côté droit est fendue et déformée (photo 028), celle du côté gauche comporte des éraflures (photo 041). L'encadrement des fenêtres présente quelques égratignures bénignes (côté droit, photos 028 et 030, côté gauche, photos 041 et 042). On note des éclats de peinture sur la face avant, au niveau du sigle Zagato de l'aile avant droite et du joint d'étanchéité de la portière gauche (photo 132). Le dessous de cette dernière est également déformé (photo 128). Le caoutchouc d'étanchéité du coffre est déchiré en haut à gauche (photo 072). Signalons des boursouflures de peinture présentes sur la poignée de portière droite (photo 027) et l'extrémité de l'aile arrière gauche (photo 038). Les vitres latérales sont en verre acrylique. Des traces d'oxydation quasi insignifiantes sont décelables sur l'orifice de remplissage du réservoir de carburant situé dans le coffre (photo 068), divers éléments du train avant (bras et tirants, photos 129 et 130), ainsi que sous le châssis (photo 031). Les jantes d'origine sont chaussées de pneus Pirelli Cinturato CN36 175/70 VR 15 dont le profil restant est d'environ 70%. La roue de secours est équipée d'un Pirelli neuf.

Intérieur

L'intérieur est entièrement d'origine. Le similicuir des sièges et les tapis de protection présentent une patine conforme à l'âge du véhicule (photos 093 à 098). Des traces de corrosion affectent l'armature des sièges (photos 124 et 125). Le chrome des poignées d'ouverture des portières (photo 085), des lève-vitres (photo 084), des compas de vitre arrière (photos 117 et 118), de la poignée de frein à main (photo 091) et du bouton d'ouverture de la boîte à gants (photo 103) est terni et légèrement piqué (photos 121 et 122). Côté passager, le plancher est usé et craquelé (photo 113). Ce défaut est masqué par les tapis de sol qui le recouvrent. Le chrome de la tige du levier de vitesses est défraîchi (photo 105). L'instrumentation d'origine est complète et en état de fonctionnement. Des harnais Sabelt ont été installés.

Mécanique

Il est exceptionnel qu’une automobile ayant couru possède encore, après 60 ans, son moteur d’origine. C’est le cas ici (photo 143). Il n'a fait l'objet d'aucune intervention depuis 40 ans, pas plus que la transmission, hormis l'entretien périodique. Une révision et un réglage ont été effectués en 2020.


Enchérir

Pas d'enchère, vendue en transaction privée
Nombre total d'enchères 0
Nombre total de commentaires 12

Ajouter un commentaire

Pour commenter, connectez-vous ou devenez membre