Lot N°744

1969 • MG MGB GT

Starting bid:€0

Lot number744

Seller Marcopolo

Private seller

Languages FR, GB, IT

Location of the lot Monaco, Monaco

Bullet point Rally-prepared and reliable, eligible for many historical events

and also Traces of use already present allowing for unrestricted use and enjoyment

Serial numberGHD4168069G

Engine capacity1800 cc

Number of cylinders4

Transmission Manual

Number of gears 4 + overdrive

Estimate €12,000 - 16,000

Description

History

Fans of the sixties will remember the 'little MG' that Richard Anthony made into a symbol of the New Wave in 1960. The singer was referring to the MGA, but the most popular of all the roadsters produced by Morris Garages was undoubtedly the MGB that succeeded it in 1962. With more than 500,000 cars produced at the Abingdon factory, the MGB remained the world's most produced small sports car for a long time, before being dethroned by a certain MX-5. Like the MGA, the MGB was first offered as a roadster and then as a GT coupe from 1965. More modern than the MGA, thanks to its body-chassis unit, the MGB shone not only on the road but also in competition, notably at the Monte Carlo Rally where it finished seventeenth overall and first in its class (2 litres) in 1964, as well as at the 24 Hours of Le Mans where it finished eleventh overall and second in its class in 1965. This impressive record of achievement now gives it access to many events reserved for the glories of the past, such as Le Mans Classic and the Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique.

This was not lost on the current owner of this MGB GT MKII who, five months after purchasing it, entered it in the London to Beijing Rally where it won its class and finished ninth overall, a testament to its mechanical health. This car came off the production line in 1969. It was first put on the road in Switzerland, where the seller bought it second hand in January 2000 and registered it in his name. In 2012, he decided to officially move his MGB to Monaco. A new registration certificate was therefore issued, in the collection class and still in his name. It is now completed by an identity card from the Fédération Internationale des Véhicules Anciens (FIVA). In 1999, a year before he bought it, the car had been completely restored by the Geneva specialist Garage Classics. The owner has no documents relating to the history of this MGB GT, nor its owner's manual. However, he specifies that he has owned the car for 21 years, during which time he has driven some 36000 kilometres out of the 151333 that he certifies today. He adds that it is free of any lien.

Exterior

The bodywork retains its original Old White English livery, but was completely repainted in 2014. On this occasion, the sills and parts of the underbody were restored. A protective aluminium sheet has been fitted to the rear of the car as a protection from the bad roads used during rallies. Holes in the bonnet and front bumper, as well as the external master switch (photo 47) are further evidence of the car's involvement in competition. Traces of glue are visible on the outline of the MGB GT badge at the rear. A front bumperette is dented (photo 26). The correct steel rims are fitted with Uniroyal C50 tyres in 175R14, instead of the original 165R14. The right front rim is marked (photo 78). The car is equipped with a spare wheel. A set of four rims with snow tyres is supplied as an extra.

Interior

A racing atmosphere is also present inside the little British coupe. This is reflected in the fitting of wide, comfortable bucket seats for long stages, three-point safety harnesses and a small three-spoke Momo leather steering wheel. The dashboard has been redesigned for regularity rallies, with the lower section now featuring a plate with additional indicators and switches. The rear seats have been eliminated in order to reduce weight. The interior side trim around the rear wheel arches and the carpeting at the passenger's feet have disappeared, leaving the sheet metal visible. The clock works. The plastic covering of the passenger door handle is cut in places (photo 124).

Mechanical

The owner states that this MGB GT's long-stroke 1.8-litre, five-bearing, 4-cylinder engine is "matching numbers", i.e. it is the original engine, but does not have a certificate to confirm it. It should be noted that this second generation MGB is equipped with a 4-speed synchronised gearbox plus overdrive. The owner reports no major work on the engine or transmission under his ownership. Regular maintenance has been carried out. The last general overhaul by Garage Classics was in May 2022, with invoice available.


Bids and comments

Current bidding No bids yet

Total number of bids 0
Total number of comments 0

Bidding

CURRENT BIDDINGStarting price : €0
If a bidder places a bid below the reserve price, he will be informed. He can then outbid himself up to the reserve price. This explains the successive bids by the same bidder.
When two bidders place an automatic bid with the same ceiling, the two identical bids will be displayed and the winning bid will be the one received first.

Time left
During the last two minutes of the auction, the clock resets to two minutes after each new bid. This repeats until there are no more bids and the sale ends.

Auction will end the 08/07/2022 12:00:00 pm

Enter your bid
OR
Enter your ceiling

Add a comment

To comment, log in or become a member

Lot N°744

MG MGB GT • 1969

Mise à prix:7 000 € Enchères à venir

Numéro du lot744

Vendeur Marcopolo

Vendeur particulier

Langues FR, GB, IT

Lieu où se trouve le lot Monaco, Monaco

Le plus Préparée et fiabilisée rallyes, éligible pour de nombreux événements historiques

Et aussi Traces d’usage déjà présentes autorisant un usage et un plaisir sans réserve

Numéro de sérieGHD4168069G

Cylindrée1800 cm3

Nombre de cylindres4

Transmission Manuelle

Nombre de rapports 4 + overdrive

Estimation 12 000 – 16 000 euros

Description

Historique

Les « ex-fans des sixties » se souviennent de la « petite MG », érigée en symbole de la Nouvelle Vague par Richard Anthony en 1960. Le chanteur évoquait alors la décoiffante MGA, mais le plus populaire de tous les roadsters produits par Morris Garages fut sans conteste la MGB qui lui succéda en 1962. Avec plus de 500 000 exemplaires sortis des chaînes de l’usine d’Abingdon, cette MGB demeura longtemps la petite voiture de sport la plus produite au monde, avant de se voir détrônée par une certaine MX-5. A l’instar de la MGA, la MGB fut d’abord proposée en roadster avant d’être déclinée en coupé GT, à partir de 1965. Plus moderne que la MGA, grâce à sa coque autoporteuse, la MGB brilla non seulement sur la route mais aussi en compétition, notamment au Rallye Monte-Carlo où elle termina dix-septième au classement général et première de sa classe (2 litres) en 1964, ainsi qu’aux 24 heures du Mans où elle se classa onzième au général et deuxième de sa classe en 1965. Ce joli palmarès lui ouvre aujourd’hui l’accès à certaines épreuves réservées aux gloires du passé, telles que Le Mans Classic ou le Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique.

Cela n’a pas échappé à l’actuel propriétaire de cette MGB GT MKII qui, cinq mois après en avoir fait l’acquisition, l’engagea au rallye « Londres-Pékin » où elle remporta sa classe et termina neuvième au classement général, preuve de sa bonne santé mécanique. Cet exemplaire est sorti de chaîne en 1969. Il a été mis pour la première fois en circulation en Suisse, pays où le vendeur l’a acheté en deuxième main en janvier 2000 et immatriculé à son nom. En 2012, il décide de déménager officiellement son MGB à Monaco. Un nouveau certificat d’immatriculation est donc établi, en collection et toujours à son nom. Il est aujourd’hui complété par une carte d’identité de la Fédération Internationale des Véhicules Anciens (FIVA). En 1999, un an avant qu’il ne s’en porte acquéreur, la voiture avait fait l’objet d’une restauration complète chez le spécialiste genevois Garage Classics. Le propriétaire ne possède aucun document relatif à l’historique de cette MGB GT, ni son manuel de bord. Il précise toutefois qu’elle est en sa possession depuis 21 ans, période durant laquelle il aura parcouru quelque 36000 kilomètres à son volant sur les 151333 affichés aujourd’hui, qu’il certifie. Il ajoute qu’elle est non gagée.

Extérieur

La carrosserie a conservé sa livrée Old White English d’origine, mais elle a été totalement repeinte en 2014. A cette occasion, les bas de caisse et les longerons ont été restaurés. On relève par ailleurs la présence d’une tôle de protection en aluminium à l’arrière, installée pour protéger la mécanique des mauvaises route empruntées durant les rallyes. Les trous présents sur le capot moteur et le pare-chocs avant, ainsi que le coupe batterie externe (photo 47) constituent d’autres témoignages de l’engagement en compétition. Des traces de colle sont visibles sur les contours du sigle MGB GT apposé sur le hayon. Une crosse de pare-chocs avant est enfoncée (photo 26). Les jantes en tôle d’origine sont équipées de pneumatiques Uniroyal C50 en 175R14, au lieu de 165R14 d’origine. La jante avant droite est marquée (photo 78). La voiture est équipée d’une roue de secours. Un jeu de quatre jantes chaussées de pneus neige est fourni en supplément.

Intérieur

Une ambiance course est également de mise à bord du petit coupé anglais. Elle se traduit par le montage de sièges baquet larges et confortables pour les longues étapes, de harnais de sécurité à trois points et d’un petit volant cuir Momo à trois branches. La planche de bord a été repensée pour les rallyes de régularité, notamment sa partie inférieure qui comporte désormais une plaque rapportée rassemblant des indicateurs et des interrupteurs supplémentaires. L’indispensable allègement a entrainé la suppression des sièges arrière. La garniture des flancs intérieurs autour des passages de roues arrière ainsi que la moquette aux pieds du passager ont disparu, laissant de fait apparaître la tôle. La montre fonctionne. On note que le revêtement en plastique de la poignée de porte côté passager est coupé par endroits (photo 124). 

Mécanique

Le propriétaire précise que le 4-cylindres 1,8 litre longue-course à cinq paliers de cette MGB GT est « matching number », c’est-à-dire qu’il s’agit de son moteur d’origine, sans toutefois posséder de certificat pour l’attester. A noter que cette deuxième génération de MGB est dotée d’une boîte de vitesses à 4 rapports synchronisée plus overdrive. Le propriétaire ne signale aucune intervention majeure sur le moteur ou la transmission depuis qu’il en a pris possession. L’entretien a été suivi. La dernière révision générale effectuée par Garage Classics date de septembre 2020, facture à l’appui.


Enchérir et commenter

Enchères non commencées
Nombre total d'enchères 0
Nombre total de commentaires 0

Enchérir

Temps restant
Pendant les deux dernières minutes des enchères, l'horloge se réinitialise à deux minutes après chaque nouvelle enchère. Cela se répète jusqu'à ce qu'il n'y ait plus d'enchère et que la vente se termine.

Fin des enchères

Ajouter un commentaire

Pour commenter, connectez-vous ou devenez membre