Lot N°756

1963 • Austin Healey 3000 Mark II

Best bid:No bid

Lot number756

Seller Stbouvy

Private seller

Languages FR, GB

Location of the lot Namur, Belgium

Bullet point A beautiful restoration for one of the most legendary British roadsters

and also An optimized example but respectful of its identity

Serial numberHBJ7L24638

Engine capacity2912 cc

Number of cylinders6

Transmission Manual

Number of gears 4 + overdrive

Estimate €55,000 - 70,000

Description

History

The 'Big' Healey's journey began in 1953 with the 100, but it was the 3000, which appeared six years later, that represented the pinnacle of this archetypal series. Designed under the leadership of the driver and engineer Donald Healey, associated for the occasion with the BMC group - owner of Austin - this roadster presented typical characteristics of a species to which he contributed amply. With its long, suggestive bonnet (essential for housing the in-line six-cylinder engine that has been part of the model since 1956), its cramped interior set back up the rear axle, its rudimentary soft top and its large wire wheels that seem to literally devour the bodywork, the "Big" held as much as it promised, because the seduction of the whole was not limited to its aesthetics. Indeed, if it did not present any particular sophistication, notably in comparison with the Jaguar XK block, the evocative vocals of the engine made you forget its commoner origins as soon as you got on board the machine, which generously dispensed a batch of sensations that are still as delightful today. At the time, few firms associated the resources of a straight six with the joys of driving with the wind in your hair, and more than one sportsman gave in to the charms of this pleasantly rigged car.

The longevity of the model, built for almost fifteen years, has been nourished by a large number of technical evolutions, hidden however under a generally unchanged physiognomy. It takes a specialist's eye to discern the few modifications that have marked the career of the 'Big'. For example, the 3000 Mark II, introduced in the spring of 1961, featured a new grille and an air intake on the bonnet. Originally from California and first registered in 1963, the car offered for sale (one of the last Mark IIs) is currently in the hands of its third owner, who acquired it in March 2013. The car had been immobilised for two decades. The seller then undertook a complete restoration entrusted to various professionals. It lasted from 2014 to 2019 and cost approximately €85,000 - complete file and invoices in support (photos 072 to 103). At the end of the restoration, the odometer was reset to zero and now totals 2130 kilometres. Neither pledged nor guaranteed, the car is registered as a collector's item. It includes on-board documentation and a certificate issued by the British Motor Heritage Trust (photos 066 and 067). The technical inspection is dated July 2019 (photo 071).

Exterior

The car benefits from the comfort provided by the lowering windows and the easier to handle soft top introduced in 1962. Painted entirely in "Ice Blue" when it left the factory, since its restoration it has had a two-tone livery combining its original shade with the "Old English Ivory" found on its sides. The work was not limited to the paintwork, which was applied over a rustproofing layer: the rear part of the body is new (photo 114) and all the other parts have been sandblasted, as well as the chassis, some corroded parts of which have been replaced. Instead of the four original rims, there are chromed spoked rims with virtually new 185R15 91V Vredestein Sprint Classic tyres. The original spare wheel with a Michelin XAS 180R15 tyre was retained (photo 041). The blue soft top and soft top cover are made of mohair fabric. A blue tonneau cover is also present.

Interior

The interior was restored in conformity with its original specifications and many new parts were fitted, including the dashboard trim and carpeting (like that in the trunk). The foams and blue leather upholstery of the front and rear seats were replaced. Heat shields were added to the engine compartment and to the chassis along the beginning of the exhaust line on the driver's side to insulate the notoriously hot interior of the Austin Healey. The same operation was carried out on the gearbox tunnel. Flanked by an elegant Moto-Lita wooden steering wheel, the instrumentation has been refurbished and is therefore fully functional; the water temperature and oil pressure gauge is new (photos 058 and 140).

Mechanical

The car is 'matching numbers'. The 2.9-litre six-cylinder engine and the four-speed gearbox with overdrive have undergone a complete rebuild from 2018 to 2019. The carburettors were completely refurbished and the entire wiring harness was replaced. The mechanics were also optimised in various ways: an electric fan, electronic ignition, servo brake and Bilstein gas dampers were fitted. The braking system was also overhauled. A complete engine oil change and lubrication was carried out in 2020 by the Retro Cars workshop in Temploux (Belgium), which also carried out various finishing works between 2019 and 2021.


Bids and comments

Best bid No bids yet
Total number of bids 0
Total number of comments 4

Add a comment

To comment, log in or become a member

Lot N°756

Austin Healey 3000 Mark II • 1963

Meilleure enchère :Pas d'enchère

Numéro du lot756

Vendeur Stbouvy

Vendeur particulier

Langues FR, GB

Lieu où se trouve le lot Namur, Belgique

Le plus Une très belle restauration pour l’un des roadsters anglais les plus mythiques

Et aussi Un exemplaire optimisé mais respectueux de son identité

Numéro de sérieHBJ7L24638

Cylindrée2912 cm3

Nombre de cylindres6

Transmission Manuelle

Nombre de rapports 4 + overdrive

Estimation 55 000 – 70 000 euros

Description

Historique

Si le parcours de la « Big » Healey a commencé dès 1953 avec la 100, c’est bien la 3000, apparue six ans plus tard, qui incarne l’apogée de cette série archétypale. Conçu sous la férule du pilote et ingénieur Donald Healey, associé pour l’occasion au groupe BMC — propriétaire d’Austin —, ce roadster présentait des caractéristiques typiques d’une espèce à l’épanouissement de laquelle il aura amplement contribué. Long capot suggestif (et indispensable pour abriter le six-cylindres en ligne indissociable du modèle dès 1956), habitacle exigu rejeté à l’aplomb de l’essieu arrière, capote rudimentaire et grandes roues fil semblant littéralement dévorer la carrosserie, la « Big » tenait autant qu’elle promettait, car la séduction de l’ensemble ne se cantonnait pas à l’esthétique. En effet, s’il ne présentait aucune sophistication particulière, notamment en comparaison du bloc Jaguar XK, les vocalises évocatrices du moteur faisaient oublier ses origines roturières dès que l’on prenait place à bord de l’engin qui dispensait généreusement un lot de sensations toujours aussi réjouissantes de nos jours. À l’époque, peu de firmes associaient les ressources d’un « straight six » aux joies de la conduite cheveux au vent et plus d’un « sportsman » a cédé aux charmes de cette auto si plaisamment gréée.

La longévité du modèle, construit durant près de quinze ans, s’est nourrie d’un très grand nombre d’évolutions techniques, dissimulées toutefois sous une physionomie globalement inchangée. Il faut l’œil d’un spécialiste pour discerner les quelques modifications ayant jalonné la carrière de la « Big ». Ainsi, la 3000 Mark II, présentée au printemps 1961, affichait une nouvelle grille de calandre ainsi qu’une prise d’air sur le capot. D’origine californienne et immatriculé pour la première fois en 1963, l’exemplaire proposé à la vente (l’une des dernières Mark II) est actuellement entre les mains de son troisième propriétaire qui en a fait l’acquisition en mars 2013. La voiture avait été immobilisée pendant deux décennies. Le vendeur a alors entamé une restauration complète confiée à divers professionnels. Elle a duré de 2014 à 2019 et a coûté environ 85000 € — dossier complet et factures à l’appui (photos 081 à 116). À l’issue de celle-ci, l’odomètre a été remis à zéro et totalise 2130 kilomètres à ce jour. Ni gagé, ni garanti, et immatriculé en collection, ce lot comprend la documentation de bord et un certificat établi par le British Motor Heritage Trust. Le contrôle technique date du mois de juillet 2019.

Extérieur

L’auto bénéficie du confort apporté par les vitres descendantes et la capote plus facilement maniable introduites en 1962. Intégralement peinte en « Ice Blue » à sa sortie d’usine, elle arbore depuis sa restauration une livrée bicolore combinant sa nuance d’origine au « Old English Ivory » que l’on retrouve sur ses flancs. Les travaux ne se sont pas bornés à la peinture, apposée sur une couche antirouille : la partie arrière de la carrosserie est neuve (photo 114) et toutes les autres pièces ont bénéficié d’un sablage, de même que le châssis dont certains éléments corrodés ont été remplacés. À la place des quatre jantes d’origine, on trouve des jantes chromées à rayons, chaussées de pneumatiques Vredestein Sprint Classic pour ainsi dire neufs de dimensions 185R15 91V. La roue de secours d’origine garnie d’un pneu Michelin XAS 180R15 a quant à elle été conservée (photo 041). De couleur bleue, la capote et le couvre-capote ont été réalisés en tissu mohair. Un tonneau-cover en matière synthétique de couleur bleue est également présent.

Intérieur

Restauré dans le respect de l’origine, l’habitacle a reçu de nombreuses pièces neuves : les éléments décoratifs du tableau de bord, la moquette (à l’instar de celle du coffre), les mousses ainsi que le garnissage des sièges avant et arrière, en cuir bleu, ont ainsi été remplacés. Des plaques anti-chaleur ont été ajoutées dans le compartiment moteur et sur le châssis le long du début de la ligne d'échappement, côté conducteur, pour isoler l’habitacle notoirement chaud des Austin Healey. La même opération a été réalisée sur le tunnel de boîte de vitesse. Flanquée d’un élégant volant en bois de marque Moto-Lita, l’instrumentation a été remise en état et est donc entièrement fonctionnelle ; le combiné regroupant la température d’eau et la pression d’huile est neuf (photos 058 et 140).

Mécanique

La voiture est « matching numbers ». Le six-cylindres de 2,9 litres et la boîte à quatre vitesses et overdrive ont fait l’objet d’une réfection intégrale de 2018 à 2019. Les carburateurs ont été remis entièrement à neuf, le faisceau électrique a été remplacé dans son ensemble. En passant, la mécanique a été optimisée à divers égards : montage d’un ventilateur électrique, d’un allumage électronique, d’un servo-frein et d’amortisseurs à gaz Bilstein. Le système de freinage a également été remis en état. Une vidange moteur et un graissage complet ont été effectués en 2020 par l’atelier Retro Cars sis à Temploux (Belgique), qui s’est également chargé de divers travaux de finition réalisés entre 2019 et 2021.


Enchérir et commenter

Meilleure Enchère Pas d'enchère

Nombre total d'enchères 0
Nombre total de commentaires 4

Ajouter un commentaire

Pour commenter, connectez-vous ou devenez membre