Lot N°893

1978 • Triumph Dolomite Sprint SOLD

Best bid:€11,000

Lot number893

Seller Tchoa

Private seller

Languages FR

Location of the lot Sospel (06), France

Bullet point Exceptional original condition, rare version for the French market

and also Clear history, 50843 original km justified by the maintenance file

Serial numberVA26711LDLO

Engine capacity1998 cc

Number of cylinders4

Transmission Manual

Number of gears 4+overdrive

Estimate €15,000 - 20,000

Description

History

"Triumph Dolomite Sprint: 1st in the 2L Group 1 class - French Circuit Championship 1976". This was Triumph's way of promoting the sporty version of its top-of-the-range saloon in France. Presented at the London Motor Show in October 1971, the Dolomite offered a high level of equipment and respectable performance for its category, but not enough to compete with its direct rival, the BMW 2002. So, very quickly, the engineering office turned its attention to the 4-cylinder engine, which saw its displacement increase from 1854 to 1998 cc, but above all adopted a new 16-valve cylinder head with overhead camshaft designed by Len Dawtrey. Power was now 127hp DIN, performance was much improved and required adapted gearbox ratios; the Stag gearbox was chosen. The handling was also the subject of particular attention with hardened and better guided suspensions. On the outside, the Sprint was recognisable by its vinyl roof, small front spoiler, grille, black stern, light alloy wheels and twin exhaust pipes. Presented in June 1973, the model continued its career until 1980 and took part in numerous races without having to be fear the competition. The car presented here is a rare version for the French market, delivered new to Monaco and registered on 23 November 1978. It has had only 4 owners, all Monegasque, since new and has covered only 50,843 km since leaving the factory, as documented by the maintenance file dating back to its very first service in January 1979. The current owner, a private collector, acquired the car in January 2007 and has since driven approximately 5000 km. This Sprint, still registered in Monaco, had 50193 km at its last technical inspection on 10 October 2014. It will have to be re-tested. Free of any pledge, this car is in a rare state of preservation and comes with its manuals and its original jack.

Exterior

The body has kept its original white paint (reference NMC) and has never been resprayed. The matt black paint on the sills is slightly faded (photos 006 and 016). The underbody is very sound (photos 086 to 122) and shows only a few superficial rust spots on the floorboards and the rear apron (photos 113, 114, 115 and 120), absolutely normal for a car in such original condition. The doors are well aligned and only the boot suffers from two small dents (photo 053). The car is complete with its model-specific trims, badges and accessories; the vinyl roof is in good original condition. The alloy wheels, also model specific, are in original condition. They are fitted with Michelin Energy 175/70R13 tyres which date from 2013 and have approximately 10% wear. A pair of rectangular fog lights under the front bumper complete the standard equipment. Finally, an amusing detail, the left rear quarter window still features a sticker from the 1978 Monaco Grand Prix.

Interior

The upholstery, which is a mixture of dark grey fabric and black leatherette, carries the reference C11 which refers to the colour black. In its original condition, it is well preserved, with no tears or pronounced signs of wear. Only the door panel trim has wrinkled over time (photos 123 to 127). The looped carpets on the floor are original and match the upholstery. The dashboard is complete and conforms to the original, complete with a tripmaster attached to the glovebox hatch. The fog light switch has been added to the left of the standard car radio and a Moto-Lita 3-spoke steering wheel with a wooden rim has replaced the original one which will be supplied with the car. All the on-board equipment is functional.

Mechanical

The engine compartment is in original condition, consistent with the car's mileage. The owner has confirmed that the engine is working as it should. There are numerous invoices showing regular oil changes and in 2014 the cooling hoses were replaced as well as the accessory belt. The carburettors were tuned more recently. The 4-speed gearbox + overdrive on the top two gears matches with the production model for this vintage. On the running gear side, 4 adjustable shock absorbers were fitted in April 2004 and in the previous month, the track rod silentblocks were changed; this operation will have to be renewed at the same time as all the front end silentblocks. The upper steering ball joints were replaced in 2002, the bellows of the lower ball joints will also be renewed. Finally, the exhaust system was recently rebuilt in stainless steel.


Comments

Best bid €11,000 by Solido

Reserve not met

Total number of bids 15
Total number of comments 7

Add a comment

To comment, log in or become a member

Lot N°893

Triumph Dolomite Sprint • 1978 VENDU

Meilleure enchère:11 000 €

Numéro du lot893

Vendeur Tchoa

Vendeur particulier

Langues FR

Lieu où se trouve le lot Sospel (06), France

Le plus Etat de conservation d’origine exceptionnel, rare version pour le marché français

Et aussi Historique limpide, 50843 km d’origine justifiés par le dossier d’entretien

Numéro de sérieVA26711LDLO

Cylindrée1998 cm3

Nombre de cylindres4

Transmission Manuelle

Nombre de rapports 4+overdrive

Estimation 15 000 – 20 000 euros

Description

Historique

« Triumph Dolomite Sprint : 1ère en classe 2L Groupe 1 – Championnat de France des Circuits 1976 ». C’est ainsi que Triumph vantait dans l’hexagone les mérites de la version sportive de sa berline haut de gamme. Présentée au Salon de Londres en octobre 1971, la Dolomite propose un niveau d’équipement élevé et des performances honorables pour sa catégorie, mais pas suffisamment pour concurrencer sa rivale directe, la BMW 2002. Ainsi, très rapidement, le bureau d’études se penche sur le 4 cylindres qui voit sa cylindrée passer de 1854 cm3 à 1998 cm3, mais surtout, adopte une nouvelle culasse à 16 soupapes et arbre à cames en tête imaginée par l’ingénieur Len Dawtrey. Désormais, la puissance est de 127cv DIN, les performances sont en nets progrès et nécessitent une boîte de vitesses mieux étagée ; c’est celle de la Stag qui sera retenue. La tenue de route fait également l’objet d’une attention particulière avec des trains roulants durcis et mieux guidés. Extérieurement, La Sprint se reconnaît à son toit en vinyle, son petit spoiler avant, sa calandre, ainsi que sa poupe noire, ses jantes en alliage léger, ou encore son échappement à double sortie. Présentée en juin 1973, elle poursuivra sa carrière jusqu’en 1980 et participera à de nombreuses compétitions sans avoir à rougir face à la concurrence. L’exemplaire présenté est une rare version destinée au marché français, livrée neuve à Monaco et immatriculée le 23 novembre 1978. Il n’a connu que 4 propriétaires, tous monégasques, depuis l’origine et n’a parcouru que 50843 km depuis sa sortie d’usine, ainsi qu’en témoigne le dossier d’entretien qui remonte à sa toute première révision, en janvier 1979. Son actuel propriétaire, un collectionneur particulier, en a fait l’acquisition en janvier 2007 et a depuis parcouru environ 5000 km à son volant. Cette Sprint, toujours immatriculée à Monaco, affichait 50193 km lors de son dernier contrôle technique effectué le 10 octobre 2014. Ce dernier devra être repassé. Libre de tout gage, cet exemplaire dans un état de conservation rare est accompagné de ses manuels ainsi que de son cric d’origine.

Extérieur

La carrosserie a conservé sa teinte blanche (référence NMC) d’origine et n’a jamais été repeinte. La peinture noir mat des bas de caisse est légèrement passée (photos 006 et 016). Les soubassements sont très sains (photos 086 à 122) et n’affichent que quelques points de rouille superficielle au niveau des planchers et de la jupe arrière (photos 113, 114, 115 et 120), absolument normaux pour une voiture en état d’origine. Les ouvrants sont bien alignés et seul le coffre souffre de deux petits enfoncements (photo 053). La voiture est complète de ses baguettes, badges et accessoires spécifiques au modèle ; le toit en vinyle est en bon état d’origine. Les jantes en alliage, elles aussi spécifiques, sont en état d’origine. Elles sont chaussées de pneus Michelin Energy 175/70R13 qui datent de 2013 et dont l’usure est d’environ 10%. Une paire de feux antibrouillard rectangulaires placés sous le pare-chocs avant complètent les équipements de série. Enfin, détail amusant, la vitre de custode arrière gauche comporte encore un autocollant du Grand-Prix de Monaco 1978.

Intérieur

La sellerie, qui mêle tissus gris foncé et similicuir noir, porte la référence C11 qui désigne la couleur noire. En état d’origine, elle est bien préservée, sans déchirure ni trace d’usure prononcée. Seules les garnitures de panneaux de portes font des plis venus avec le temps (photos 123 à 127). Les moquettes bouclées au sol sont d’origine et assorties à la sellerie. La planche de bord est, quant à elle, complète et conforme à l’origine, complétée d’un tripmaster fixé sur la trappe de boîte à gants. L’interrupteur de feux antibrouillard a été ajouté à gauche de l’autoradio de série et un volant 3 branches Moto-Lita à jante en bois a remplacé l’élément d’origine qui sera fourni avec la voiture. L’ensemble des équipements de bord est fonctionnel.

Mécanique

Le compartiment moteur est en état d’origine, conforme au kilométrage de la voiture. Le propriétaire nous a confirmé que le moteur fonctionnait bien. De nombreuses factures témoignent de vidanges régulières et en 2014, les durites de refroidissement ont été remplacées ainsi que la courroie accessoire. Un réglage de la carburation a été effectué plus récemment. La boîte de vitesses à 4 rapports + overdrive sur les deux derniers rapports est conforme au modèle de série pour ce millésime. Du côté des trains roulants, 4 amortisseurs réglables ont été montés en avril 2004 et le mois précédent, les silentblocs de barres de tirants de chasse ont été changés ; cette opération sera à renouveler en même temps que tous les silentblocs du train avant. Les rotules supérieures de direction ont été remplacées en 2002, les soufflets des rotules inférieures seront à renouveler également. Enfin, la ligne d’échappement a été refaite en inox il y’a peu.


Enchérir

Meilleure Enchère 11 000 € par Solido

Réserve non atteinte

Nombre total d'enchères 15
Nombre total de commentaires 7

Ajouter un commentaire

Pour commenter, connectez-vous ou devenez membre